2017 Festival Authors Announced

Pulitzer Prize and Grammy Award winners, filmmakers, comedians, and artists are among the diverse roster of presenters who will be providing sessions at the 14th annual Arkansas Literary Festival, April 27-30, 2017. The Central Arkansas Library System's (CALS) Main Library campus and many other Little Rock venues are the sites for a stimulating mix of sessions, panels, special events, performances, workshops, presentations, book sales, book signings, and opportunities to meet authors. Most events are free and open to the public.

Read more about this year's festival | Browse this year's slate of authors & presenters

2017 arkansas literary festival

Fiction & Fact

The Central Arkansas Library System's (CALS) has received one of seventeen national grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for Fiction & Fact: A War Dialogue with Veterans, a two-year project to be offered beginning in Fall 2016. The project provides opportunities for veterans to participate in any of four distinct units and reflect on the war and homecoming experiences through facilitated discussions based on different humanities sources: books, art, film, museum exhibits, oral histories, and blogs.

Learn more »

National Book Awards Recognize Lit Fest Authors

September 29, 2016

Eight authors who have appeared at the Arkansas Literary Festival have been included in the 2016 National Book Awards longlist. 2016 Lit Fest alums Chris Bachelder (The Throwback Special), Garth Greenwell (What Belongs to You), and Karan Mahajan (The Association of Small Bombs) – along with 2013 Lit Fest author Lydia Millet (Sweet Lamb of Heaven) – have been listed for works of fiction.

Poet and 2016 Lit Fest presenter Kevin Young has been included in the Poetry category for his latest collection, Blue Laws.

And, 2014 Lit Fest authors Representative John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell are among those in consideration for the Young People's Literature Award for March: Book Three.

Congratulations are also due to 2015 Lit Fest author Thomas Pierce (Hall of Small Mammals) who has been selected for the National Book Awards 2016 "5 Under 35" list.

More news & events »


We couldn't present so many great authors every year, most of them appearing free to the public, without the sustained effort and support of people like you. All forms of support are welcome and truly appreciated.

Make a Secure Online Donation

Fill out my online form.


Volunteers are necessary to help with pre-festival marketing and planning, as well as festival coordination and operations management. If you'd like to volunteer your time and skill, please contact Angela Delaney, CALS Volunteer Coordinator, by email or by phone at 918-3095.

Mail Your Donation

Contributions are always welcome in any form. If you would like to send a check with your donation, please mail it to:

Arkansas Literary Festival
100 Rock St.
Little Rock, AR 72201

You may also make a secure online donation here (be sure to designate your gift for the Arkansas Literary Festival). This form is hosted on the Central Arkansas Library System's (CALS) primary website; the Arkansas Literary Festival is a project of CALS.

About Us

The Arkansas Literary Festival is a project of the Central Arkansas Library System. The Festival's mission is to encourage the development of a more literate populace.

A group of dedicated volunteers assists Festival Coordinator Brad Mooy with planning the Festival. Committee chairs include Kevin Brockmeier, Talent Committee; Susan Santa Cruz & Dana Downes, Festival Guides; Amy Bradley-Hole, Moderators; Katherine Stewart, SWAG; Seth Eli Barlow, Author! Author!; and Jennifer White, WITS.

Festival Coordinator: Brad Mooy

Central Arkansas Library System

The Arkansas Literary Festival is a program of the Central Arkansas Library System
100 Rock St.   Little Rock, AR   72201